The first official meeting of the East Malvern RSL Sub-Branch was held on May 23rd 1933 in the 'great barn loft' at the rear of a house in Darling road owned by Mr David Hyslop which had been converted into a meeting area some time before for the use of the 1st Malvern scout group.
Circulars had been distributed in the local area to attract local servicemen. To the surprise of the provisional committee, 120 eligible ex-servicemen attended the meeting with 65 subscriptions paid on the night. A fantastic response for the committee and the RSL State President Mr Holland.
The Club experienced continued to growth over the next 22 years establishing its current site on Stanley Grose Drive in 1955 and is still operating today from the same building which has had several extensions during the years to accommodate membership growth.
In 1993, Mr Ted Merriman and Mr Harry Hubble complied the history of the club to commemorate it’s Diamond Jubilee. This document has been reproduced in PDF format and can be viewed by clicking on the button below.
Since 1993, the club has experienced economic challenges, however it continues to this day because of the enduring belief in the RSL cause and the importance of the club to its members and the local community.